Has anyone seen 2011??…I think I blinked and missed it!!

1 Jan

I remember being in high school and thinking how fast the time was passing.  Everyone always said…”just wait until you get older, it goes even faster!”  Holy moly if only I had known!!  Now my years tend to feel like weeks and before I know it I’m onto another one.  Last year was an absolute whirlwind of change and probably one of my best years to date.  I am looking forward to what 2012 has in store!

Over the last few months I have been really into goal setting.  I contribute most of this to being in the Integrative Nutrition program and having a personal health coach. As a health coach myself, I KNOW just how beneficial and essential they are.  My health coach  Cylleria Johnson is the bomb folks! Why?  Because she holds me accountable!  For some strange reason,(and I’m sure EVERYONE has experienced this) keeping the promises you make to others is often much easier than keeping the promises you make to yourself.  It’s kind of a sad deal, but so very true.  Maybe take a minute and think about the last time you made a promise to yourself, and then reflect on whether or not you kept it.  Were there any repercussions?  Did you break the promise to yourself to meet the needs of another?  What was the outcome, and how do you think it would have been different if you had kept your word? Most importantly…if you had made the same promise to someone else, would you follow through?

It’s just an interesting little thought and now I find myself asking these questions a lot.  The same conclusion always pops up…I am much happier when I keep my promises.  So….my goal for 2012…drumroll please…..Is to make promises to myself, write them down or even tell someone else about them, and stick to them.  No excuses!  If I am worried about holding myself accountable then I will continue to work with a health coach. I highly recommend you do the same 🙂 Resolutions are much easier to keep when you get by with a little help from your friends!

Happy 2012 Everyone!!  Let’s make it a great year!!

-Leah

http://www.shineonwellness.com

 

 

Leave a Reply

